Monte Vista Crane Festival this weekend

March 7, 2017

DSCN5445

!-> All about the event and surrounding activities, see http://mvcranefest.org/

http-:mvcranefest.org.gif

DSCN5428

See, the only reason I “waste my time” looking at some of the things I consider ‘threats to the biosphere,’ like seemingly unstoppable spewing sources that add radioactive fallout to our atmosphere and oceans…,  is that love it here on this incredible planet.

In some respects the situation looks dire.  It seems to be an uphill battle.  It certainly won’t stop with wishful thinking or New Age make-belief.  (Would have been long-resolved if it were that easy…)   The nuclear industry, as well as other (international, monetary, social, intercultural, gmo-related, etc.) of course, presents very challenging issues that beg for inventions, new technologies, perhaps even an entire overhaul of what has been modern industrial society’s thinking (and not relating):   A culture change.

I know the ‘stupid data’ I look at and share is not in and of itself a part of the solution.  But it might be part of coming to grips with how prevalent, widespread and ongoing ‘fallout events’ are, how they’re being covered-up, and how that makes practically everything officially said about these “inconsequential radioactive trace whiffs from unknown sources” sound like biased BS. I think exposing BS and utter lies is always a good thing.

Though I need more balance.  Hence, it’s really important that I spent more time enjoying ‘being alive in an awesome place‘, too.  So, as part of my commitment to “STEP AWAY FROM THE DAMN COMPUTER” ;-), you might get more nature / landscape photos of this part of North America this year.

The Crane Festival is this weekend, just south of Monte Vista, Colorado (west of Alamosa).

To avoid the crowds, I decided to swing by early, as I knew they’re back, because I’ve seen and heard them overhead.  Like clockwork, such an amazing migratory bird…

Today made me want to return this weekend for one of the guided tours.  (I’ll see if it fits with the work flow.)  I would want to get there very early to witness their rumored-to-be-magnificent sunrise take-offs.

Anyhow, couple photos (taken with my light-weight pocket cheapo Nikon Coolpix S5200):

DSCN5389DSCN5441DSCN5453

If you hang around a bit (or walk rather than drive the refuge tour), you’re bound to see some of their mating dances:

DSCN5392DSCN5396

Up to 20,000 will be passing through the area this month…

DSCN5433

DSCN5383

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monte Vista Crane Festival this weekend

  1. That looks amazing, quite a relaxing festival I imagine :D

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

