US Air Force A-10 Thunderbolt Sighting

On Monday, October 26, 2015, around 12:26pm MDT, a mystery plane, I later identified as probably having been a US Air Force A-10 Thunderbolt II flew south over me in the forested part of the Crestone-Baca area (in Southern Colorado) and then, shortly after, veered east over the low spot of the Sangre de Cristo mountains by the Great Sand Dunes National Park.  Or at least, so it seemed, as it disappeared from my view.

Took me a few seconds to grab my camera, but I managed to take these three (zoomed-in) photos, which I later used to identify the plane with:

DSCN8493 DSCN8494 DSCN8493Couple photos of this plane from Googling it:

a-10-thunderbolt-ii_011 a-10I’m not 100% sure, but that’s what I found that resembled it best.

When it flew over, I first thought it had a V-shaped tail, but the photos clearly show that wasn’t the case.    Anyways.

(I did not show on the Flight Radar 24 site… and since it flew below the mountain rage might have been flying “under the radar”.)

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to US Air Force A-10 Thunderbolt Sighting

  1. Pingback: Finally Some Snow On The Mountain Tops (SLV Photos) | Allegedly Apparent Blog

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

