Spring Snows, Lightning, Radiation Data, Moving Out of my Car, & Ancient Tree Healing Energies…

Crestone, May 9th, 2015 – Heavy snow-rain mix, 8200 ft, occasional lightning – 4:44 pm

I’m sitting in my car, using MiFi, waiting for this rain/snow shower to pass.

carViewIt’s not letting up…

Curious to see how near the nearest lightning strikes were, I looked at http://www.lightningmaps.org/realtime and zoomed in.  Here’s the past hour of cloud-to-ground strikes for Colorado:

Meanwhile the light rain has turned more heavy wet-snowy… (I’m at around 8,200 feet elevation again).  So it goes in the mountains…

MAY9_2015_FORCASTtonight

NOAA’s warning for a “Hazardous Weather Outlook” …

As my car gets slowly covered in snow and it gets darker in here, I take a radiation measurement (I mean, why not, right? ;-) ): Horizontal, by the window, for the entire hour and 15 minutes I sat here, with my feet getting cold…:

radbywindschield

5539 counts in 1hr15min (75 min. avg.) => 73.8 CPM  Pretty much normal at this altitude, albeit almost +10 CPM over my usual here.  Yesterday, for instance, a 2 hour average came out at 66.3 CPM.

Also yesterday, in between the rain showers, it was lovely and sunny part of the day.  After I finished a project, I went for a short hike in the forest.

  • Some photos from yesterday, May 8, 2015 on the western slopes of the Sangre de Cristo Mountains near Crestone, Colorado:
DSCN3392

Some of these crows sound like monkeys. ;-)

Higher up you can see the re-frozen melt of the awesome amounts of fresh snow that have been falling higher up this past week:

DSCN3396

-> A zoom in, and with the colors heightened to the max, you can see the turquoise green-blue from the thick ice.  Not sure why there’s so much purple in there too.  The colors of this mountain in the snow: black, white, turquoise and purple.  ;-)  Pretty:

MOUNTAINCOLORS_MAY2015

The rain/snow, as measured on a quick windshield swipe, by the way, has returned to the normal as far as radioactivity goes, back to what I had always known it at: ‘causing a slight uptick, but nothing even remotely like the 6.1 µSv/hr observed on May 3.

Unaware last week that many natural radioisotopes isotopes, like Radon, Bismuth and Lead radioisotopes (in the Thorium and Uranium decay chains, for instance) which wash out of the air, especially during a first MAJOR spring rain event, can cause thát much of a radiation uptick, I wondered out-loud if Fukushima could have been a factor.  (See also this week’s blog posts:

Always still so much to learn…

This reading, shown below, at least the part after the comma, seems to suggest FUKUSHIMA IS HERE, though.  [Just kidding]:Rainout_

No, actually, joking aside (It’s actually not funny… and if it’s a bad as many think it is, the current cancer epidemic might get a lot worse in the decades to come…); what I find troubling is the ongoing practice of the US government’s “Environmental Protection Agency” (EPA) to continue blocking out part of its precise measurements, and completely hiding of Beta Radiation data for most locations.   Thát leaves many wondering if the spikes we observe on our Geigers Counters may – at least IN PART – still have a man-made aspect to it.

Here’s this week’s data gaps for Colorado Springs, Colorado, which falls smack in the middle of erratic heightened gamma activity, very much hinting of a likely radioactive fallout event:

ColoradoSprings_Radnet_May8_2015_B_G3G5G9_dataGaps_Anyways…  The “new normal” since Fukushima…, I suppose…

In other news, I’m no longer sleeping in my car.  :-D

I do actually have a small piece of forest that I own the land title to (what crazy/modernity-afflicted people refer to as “owning the land”, but don’t get me started… It could turn into a rant like this…), but “having land”, so to speak, actually means very little when I can’t even drive onto it, and it’s snowing like crazy every now and then…

So, long story short, I bought a bigger tent, some wood and built myself a platform in-between rain showers:

platform

Tada:

HomeFor2015It’s a step in the right direction.

Still lagging: modern sanitation, water, WARM water, electricity, a roof that can hold a snow load and storm gusts, heating… Mmm a wood stove…, a fridge, a more-than-one burner stove,…  A bathtub with warm water!  Mmm Yes… Oh… Yes… I can dream…  

At least I can stand up already.  Definitely a step-up from a crawl space! ;-)

Better(It’s kinda funny when I ponder the gaping discrepancy in the budgets of pro-nuclear versus anti-nuclear folks.  lol…

Here’s my super-deluxe kitchen, with tree-supported back rest and “a spot to put my hat”:

kitchenThe Miso soup with veggies was delicious.   Here’s a view of my kitchen’s ceiling:  ;-)

kitchenCealilingOne of my regular visitors:

SiteView24 hours later, it looks like this, by the way…:

springsnows

-> The stakes are put (roughly) where I intend to make above-mentioned dreams come true.  ;-)

It’s a slow-moving project, full of unknowns and uncertainties, but at least there’s been some movement: 4 small trees are down.   They were small stunted Juniper Trees.  When fresh-cut, they’re purple on the inside, which quickly oxidizes and turns brown.

Juniper Tree, 1906-2015 …   This one, the oldest, was 108 years old, maybe 109.   It’s a humbling decision to make, but at least I took my time for it.  (I used to literally risk my life and liberty to keep 2000-year old redwoods standing in the late 1990s, which I once mentioned something about in, Oct. 2011, Respect Your Elders).  I have put the trunks aside for special designated use later.

JuniperCut_1906-2015_108yrs..

The spot where I first intended to build had one much taller Juniper tree, who kept giving me a weird feeling in regards to cutting it.    So, to get clear, I hung out with it for some 3 weeks to feel it out.  (Yeah, I know… If you wonder what I do: sometimes I hang out with a tree for weeks in an attempt to hear it…)  ;-) It’s older, likely over 250 years old I think, and while I eventually ‘got permission’ to cut it, it required of me, so I sensed, a ‘stepping up’ to do what it’s doing (a heaven-and-earth balancing on some kind of energy line that runs through the ridge there).  It gets to stay.  I think I’d end up feeling I was rather arrogant if I cut that one, so I moved my stakes.   Everything’s been flowing nicely since.

Later in the afternoon yesterday (May 8), when it was relatively warm, I went for a hike in the forest, which has many truly ancient junipers, some of ’em gnarly-awesome-looking.

The next few photos were taken with the intention

of broadcasting this place’ healing energies:

DSCN3385 DSCN3371 rock_orangeLycheon I’m like’n the Lycheons ;-) Lycheon_3 DSCN3404 DSCN3347 Later on, I stopped by a Buthanese Buddhist Temple.

DSCN3410

The windy season leaves many a’ flag shredded…

May All Beings, Without Exception on this Earth,

Enjoy Peace, Happiness, and Complete Prosperity.

PadmasambhavaThanka

— — — — — — —

Disclaimer and Do NOT Share Policy

FlagMVB
If you are viewing this page on any website other than allegedlyapparent.wordpress.com/ it may be plagiarized.  Please let me know.   All content is copyright © Michaël Van Broekhoven, administrator of the Allegedly Apparent Blog.  Content cited, quoted etc. from other sources is under the respective rights of that content owner.  For more details, see my Disclaimer, Share Policy and Fair Use Notice  If you wish to reproduce any of my content in full or in more than a paragraph or quote, please contact me first to (maybe not) obtain permission.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Spring Snows, Lightning, Radiation Data, Moving Out of my Car, & Ancient Tree Healing Energies…

  1. Pingback: May Snowfall Record Broken: 40 cm (16″) of Fresh Snow ! (Southern Colorado, May 9-10, 2015) | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  2. Shari says:

    I love seeing the pictures and hearing where you are at in your process. Crestone is so beautiful.

  3. Andy says:

    Michael,
    I’m especially struck by your two next-to-last shots of rocks covered with what appears at first to be a light teal-colored growth of crystallized lichen of a certain sort. I’m curious to know if you’ve ever encountered or noticed it before, and/or what is your opinion about what it’s constitution or origination might actually be. I’ve been taking lots of pictures of the very same phenomenon running rampant all over trunks and branches of trees here in mountainous Central Pennsylvania, and strangling them by causing the bark to strip off. The whole presentation just began developing largely in early spring, into what are now major plague proportions, becoming even more manifest and prominent after rainfall. To my jaundiced eye, it appears to be some form of airborne lichen on steroids, that is possibly becoming mutated by ionizing radiation. If you take a closer look at any trees (in particular, deciduous) where you’re at in Colorado, I wouldn’t be at all surprised if you can observe the very same pathology at work, which has had me horrified for weeks on end. There is an environmentalist from Boulder named Jana Dixon, who published a rather shocking report online last fall, hypothesizing various reasons for Boulder having lately lost about 50% of its tree cover, which is well worth a look for someone as observant as you are, from that same part of the woods. I would very much like to know if any similar specimen from thereabouts might exhibit any particular signs or evidence of radioactivity.
    http://www.academia.edu/8551901/OBSERVATIONS_ON_TREE_DEATH_IN_BOULDER_CO

  4. Hi Andy, Lichen on all kinds of types have always been all over the rocks and trees here, as far as I know. I find ’em very beautiful. They’ve come alive with all the recent moisture. The cacti are swelling up as well, very nice. I’m not aware of abnormalities or strange mutations. Apart from pine-beetle-affected pines (which has wrecked quite the havoc), most species in this region seem to be in great health, especially with the drought easing up. I asked some old-timers and wilderness guides and that’s all they’ve seen here too.

    The drawing of conclusions about the cause (“…rendered useless by ionizing radiation”, etc.) without actual evidence for that (before, after, comparative studies, sample analysis, etc.) makes that Jana Dixon article come across as incredibly unscientific to me. Though, at the same time, it’s not impossible. Part of the problem is lack of data: the US government never bothered to identify the Fukushima fallout hotspots. All we do know (from USGS rain samples) is that an area near Boulder received 833 Bq/m^2 of I-131 and dozens of Bq/m^2 of Cs-134 & Cs-137 in 2011. Not extreme, but it hints of hotspots nearby being quite possible. (See my (outdated, May 2012) blog post, Radiation Fallout Maps for the United States @ https://allegedlyapparent.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/radiation-fallout-maps-for-the-united-states/ )

    It would take a very focused and long-term observation to detect changes in lichens, etc., so I doubt that even if I pay a little more attention I would notice. I’ve been coming here for over a decade, but even that is not long enough to become intimately familiar with the intricacies of cycles over their multi-decade cycles. Without knowing how these species change through the seasons and with climate change, solar activity shifts, acidity changes, etc., it’s really not possible to identify a specific cause. That’s my scientific answer: We don’t know enough to draw conclusions. My non-scientific answer is that you don’t need scientific data to validate your emotion / sense that something is going awfully wrong and that it has something to do with man-made radioactivity.

    Thanks for caring. Keep investigating, both within and in the specific bio-region you’re in.

  5. Lisa says:

    Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to seeing your new home soon!

  6. MVB says:

    Yeah, if it ever stops raining it might happen… ;-)

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

