Full Moon Snowshoeing Trip. (2 nights at 11,000 ft)

The almost-Full Moon rises of the Sangre de Cristo mountains watching over Crestone on January 2, 2014, as seen from the Yak ‘n Cracker / ChoKuRei Farm Store:

Photos by © Michaël Van Broekhoven.

Can you feel them calling you?  :-)   Photos by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2015.

Greetings and Salutations from the tiny mountain-slopes town of Crestone, Colorado, USA.  It is late evening Tuesday, January 6, 2015.  Happy New Year!

I have safely returned from a solo 2-night invigorating Full Moon snow-shoeing trip in the high country (above 10,000 ft / above 3 km elevation) in the majestic Sangre de Cristo mountain range of the Northern San Luis Valley in Southern Colorado (USA).

After letting a local friend in Search and Rescue know of my hike and planned return, I hiked up in the light of the Full Moon, pitched my tent around 11,000 ft. elevation.   Vertically, I only went up about 2500 ft (some 760 meters), but that kicked my butt.  I guess I need to do it more often.   Slept in and hung out the next day.  I couldn’t really go much higher anyway, at least not safely, as a snow drift bank blocked easy passage.  Fréézing wind!   Lovely next day, stayed a second night.   I hiked back down this past sunny afternoon.

All Photos © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2015.  All Right Reserved.  Do Not Share Policy.

[Skip this paragraph if you just want to see more pretty pics.

To put this hike in context… lately, especially in December, I got a little caried away with an armchair investigation (coffee, laptop, wifi + time) of that yet-to-be-resolved Zaporizhia nuclear mystery, which took time away from everything else, including a much-needed serious hike I kept postponing.  When RT wrote (Dec. 30, 2014), “RT is trying to verify the report” (about the leaked documents that claim ZNPP-caused radiation was many times the legal limit, which I wrote about here, here and here – which all adds to THIS), I thought, “Alright!  Maybe we’ll get some answers.”  I felt I could let others finally get to the bottom of this… A week went by and I checked up on how their verification efforts were going.  I don’t know how to interpret them: RT simply deleted that line from their article.  (“Edited time: Jan. 01, 2015 09:18)  I guess they’re not even going to bother to try to verify those reports.  No follow-ups.  Anyhow…, just to switch it up a bit, I started watching air traffic over the Eastern Ukraine (somewhat entertaining, it turned out) on http://www.flightradar24.com/48.71,31.66/6.  Interesting to watch planes coming and going, especially the ones from Vienna, Austria… (home of the IAEA headquarters…) to and from DNK (Dnepropetrovsk, a big economic and political powerhouse just north of the town of Zaporizhia).  And then there’s these funny ways of flying from Egypt to Kiev, by way of dipping down right over ZNPP:

Dec. 27, 2014 - http://www.flightradar24.com/48.95,35.82/6

Stuff like that.  I could write a long blogpost full of more of such observations.  (Maybe someday…).  Long story short: I felt it was time to go “the RT route” and just step back.  Maybe we’ll never know.   Maybe nothing happened.  Always possible.  Pretty weird if that were the case, but I can’t rule it out.   So while I was checking on flights in and out of DNK, OZH and HRK, following Cessnas into Serbia, see planes drop off the tracker over Egypt, and see a large percentage of flights coming and going from either Vienna (Austria), Istanbul (Turkey) or the Middle East, I felt I needed to simply step away from this whole thing.   Pack my backpack and head out and up.  It didn’t matter the sun was setting.  It was full moon anyhow.  All night long.

SO – thank goodness – I heeded the stronger call to hike up during the Full Moon, when “the veils between the worlds” are said to be even thinner than they already are here…  Maybe I would find inspiration or insights?

Preview of opening song in Roerich documentary shown further below.

“The is no path to convey you there. Lest through snow and rock you dare.”  Fragment of an opening song from the Roerich documentary, I watched right before heading out.  I’ll share about it in a next blogpost.

As is true for all mountains, yet more for some than others, the rugged high terrain is one of the sacred areas where the Earth brushes up against the unseen world.  Wisdom energies gather there, higher up, and resonant spirits, including wrathful guardians of oral wisdom lineages, live there among the clouds.

(On a side note: This is why Himalayan people traditionally did not climb to the very top (that’s a relatively new thing introduced by modern mountaineers), as a matter of humility and respect to not disrupt those spirits.)

Spiritual seekers, dreamers, and practitioners have often sought out these sorts of energetically heightened ‘sacred places’ to draw upon the energies, commune with the spirits, or find inspiration.  Personally, I find it usually very helpful to travel into lands that are energetically as far away as possible from the degradation and corruption of modern society.  I have found that to be the case in ancient forests as well, especially deep in the ancient Redwoods and the Amazon.  Of course, that same profound stillness and depth can be found within our own bodies, for which body awareness practices can serve to deepen our experience of this.

It was a very peaceful time up there.  Didn’t see any other humans.

And all the rest… I’ll keep to myself for now.

Without further due, some PHOTOS of this trip:

DSCN0568

Frozen Water Fall, around 11,000 ft along Willow Lake Trail, near Crestone, Colorado.

DSCN0564 DSCN0583

:-)  Bedroom and kitchen:

DSCN0598 DSCN0597 DSCN0596

Sunset colors:

DSCN0610

The late-sunset purples caught by my camera are pretty close to the real thing; the reds moved more towards maroon than seen here:

DSCN0619 DSCN0630 DSCN0631

Sunrise at last!    (for my tent site, at about 12 noon):

DSCN0648

And then all the way back to the San Luis Valley floor…

DSCN0653 DSCN0662 DSCN0676 DSCN0684 DSCN0689

I needed that.

This entry was posted in Politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Full Moon Snowshoeing Trip. (2 nights at 11,000 ft)

  1. Pingback: FlightRadar24’s View of Eastern Ukraine Dec. 27, 204 – Early Jan. 2015 (A Sampling of Tracked Flights) | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  2. Pingback: A Selection of Nicholas Roerich Paintings + a Video | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  3. Cindy says:

    Good to See U R Doing it!
    CKE

  4. Pingback: Flashback: Brussels, October 23, 1983 | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  5. wildninja says:

    Beautiful. I enjoyed these photos.

  6. Bas says:

    Hey amigo,
    mijn eerste comment ooit denk ik op je blogpost.
    Genoten van je foto’s, ik kreeg er heimwee van.
    prachtige streek…
    Be safe en tot binnenkort.
    Herinner me nog maar aan je blogpost, dan kom ik eens wat vaker piepen.
    Groetjes!

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

