A Visit to Fukushima, Cut Short. With PHOTOS and Reflections.

[!!!–> Important note, added 1/21/2014:  My assumption that the elevated radioactivity in various seaweeds (like kelps from Hokkaido) was from nuclear industry contamination was proven WRONG.  It was due to naturally-occurring Potassium-40 (!!!).  The shown seaweeds are thus simply extra-nutricious, not dangerous!.   See my lab data@ http://wp.me/puwO9-2rz  and check subsequent reporting, such as !!–> Some Pointers to See Through Nuclear Deceptions ]

— — —

JAPAN – Mid-November 2013 (shortlink: http://wp.me/puwO9-2ic) – I seemed like a great idea at the time: I’d get as close to the reactors as I can, do a shamanic journey and ceremony there (to loosen the grip of “the nuclear spell“)… and leave for the next of several intended locations in the region…

!!!–> Disclaimer & DO NOT Share my photos and data Policy 

More maps, click image (including from Safecast).  Note: Contamination shown may not correspond with latest realities.

More maps, click image (including from Safecast). Note: Contamination shown may not correspond with latest realities.

–> In the previous post, “Why I’m in Japan (…)” I shared some of the fallout maps and a couple other things I considered before going to this ‘tourism promotion area’

Click image to see Safecast and other maps, including one that shows that while dose rates may be low, deposition of Cesium-137 in the region is quite high.

Compared to the locals I looked a bit “overdressed”…

Some photos from my journey:

I decided to visit Iwaki, one of the least contaminated spots on the Fukushima Coast, and still relatively close to the molten mess: following the road north it would be just 26 km.  The beach I visited is just 24 km (15 miles) directly south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site.  On my way in, by express train from Tokyo, I put my suit on when I my MedCom Inspector Alert stayed above 0.2 µSv/hr for a brief period passing through relative hotspot area in Chiba, northeast of Tokyo.  Because it was my first time entering the region close to an extreme nuclear accident, I decided to play it “better safe than sorry.”  The suit and mask was solely to keep radioactive dust off me. Radiation levels came back down closer to the beach.  Approaching Iwaki, Fukushima:

DSCN3097

0.179 microsievert per hour. Not much as a dose, but in this case more an indicator of possible radioactive being part of the invisible reality. — Greetings from the Express train to Iwaki, in the Fukushima Prefecture. The Dose rate in the area used to be in the 0.030 to 0.055 µSv/hr range.   While there’ nothing scary about the current observed dose rate, the elevated levels here are due to radioactive particles in the soil and air, not from distant sources such as gamma rays observed at higher altitudes (in the mountains or on airplanes).  I took extreme precautions to keep the radioactive fallout out of me.   (The gamma radiation itself goes through the suit, of course.)  Photos by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013. All Rights Reserved.

DSCN3104

Late at night, arrival in Iwaki. Second floor of the train station.

DSCN3393

The next morning I find the official radiation monitor, just outside the train station downtown Iwaki.

DSCN3378

The dose rate fluctuates around the average of 0.135 µSv/hr. Confirmed.

DSCN3383

On the ground right by the monitor, more than double, showing that there’s more radioisotopes, including an unknown amount of fallout, in the surface layer of the ground, all around.  Photos by © Michaël Van Broekhoven – All Rights Reserved.

Iwaki_Nov13_2013_dirtSidewalk_random_MVB_Medcom_groundlevel_almost 4µSv_hr

Not included in the government data is that just a couple blocks away, any area where water collected, pooled, or streamed, has obvious ‘hotspots’ crackling with activity, very clearly from fallout.  Example from a short walk in Iwaki, Fukushima Prefecture: 3.781 µSv/hr, many times above what used to be natural soil radiation levels there.
Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, November 13, 2013.

Then, on the beach, as soon as I entered the area that gets tides, radiation would drop off and on to levels that used to be normal there.  It had just rained in the previous days, so the air was relatively clear.  The wet sand and water dilutes and shields the radiation, and a light breeze was blowing from inland to the sea.  So right there, in that moment, it felt fine to take my mask off.  (It may have been fine all along, I just played ‘safe rather than sorry’.)

NOTE:  Long-term exposure, particularly due to ingestion of particles, is a different matter, especially for young children.  It  was discovered that along the coast affected by the radiation-spewing Sellafield (a nuclear reprocessing site, close to the village of Seascale on the coast of the Irish Sea in Cumbria, England. ), the incidence of leukemia was clearly related to the distance from the beaches, with the first mile being  most affected.  Ocean contamination was less severe there than in Fukushima.   See Study: “Proximity to the Irish Sea and Leukemia Incidence in Children  at ages 0-4 in Wales from 1974-1989  First Report of the Green Audit Irish Sea Research Group August 1st 1998

Palm trees have already been planted to welcome the returning tourists…

DSCN3140

That’s about as low as it went, a deceptive image that does not warn of the long-term effects of radionuclides being spread in the contaminated ocean’s water vapors…
Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013.

You would not think these photos were taken just 15 miles south of the stricken nuclear disaster site, but they were… November 13, 2013  Beach north of Iwaki:

DSCN3344

Surfers and joggers enjoying the lovely weather… just 15 miles south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site…   May they enjoy good health throughout their lives!  —  November 13, 2013 – Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven.

DSCN3260

Radioactive ocean?  lalalalala. (fingers in ears)  “Government says it’s okay, must be okay.”  15 miles south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site…  Short-term exposure may indeed cause no adverse health effects for most, but frequent exposure to even low-levels of manmade radionuclides like Cs-137, Pu-239, Sr-90 and others, may affect some over time.    November 13, 2013 – Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013

DSCN3294

15 miles south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site…
November 13, 2013 – Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013

DSCN3158

Fishing ban? Not sure what those boats are doing right off the coast of Fukushima, cause supposedly there is a fishing ban…  Not reassuring.
Scene 15 miles south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site…
November 13, 2013 – Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013

DSCN3360

Local produce at store right by the beach north of Iwaki. Nobody wears any extra protection. The atmosphere is one of “nothing happened”. Grocery store just 15 miles south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site…
November 13, 2013 – Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013

DSCN3367

Local produce at store right by the beach north of Iwaki. Nobody wears any extra protection. The atmosphere is one of “nothing happened”. Grocery store just 15 miles south of the Fukushima-Daiichi Nuclear Disaster Site…
November 13, 2013 – Photo by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013

I walked around with my MedCom Inspector Alert Geiger Counter in this store.  Most seemed fine at first impression, but it’s well-known that ordinary Geiger Counters are not sensitive enough to measure radiation in food, as the food itself shields the to-be-ingested particles so much that even amounts over the maximum allowable levels in food barely show.  In the US, I’ve read reports (like this) of elevated levels, but never found anything significant with my Geiger Counter myself.  Wild mushrooms from near where I used to live in Northern California, which I sent to a lab for radioanalysis, were found to contain 23 Bq/kg of Cs-137, for instance, but – and this is my point:- this level did not have any effect on the measured dose when I kept a Geiger Counter to them.  Keep this in mind, as the food I found for sale was not just a little more than the “new background level”, but about 600% higher!

Some people take a timed ‘Count’ (of radiation rays hitting the sensor) and compare that to the Count away from the food, generally over several hours.

Bloomberg (April 13, 2011): “Geiger counters are probably ineffective for consumers in detecting hazardous levels of radiation in food and water at home, scientists, professors and device makers said.  Large samples should be tested in laboratory-like settings to obtain results, said Joseph Rotunda, who heads the radiation measurement division at toolmaker Thermo Fisher Scientific Inc.  Determining whether food, water or milk is safe also requires expert knowledge and more sophisticated equipment than the typical devices sold online, said Atsushi Katayama, a member of the Japan Society for Analytical Chemistry. […]  “Just pointing a measuring device at your food before dinner is pretty much meaningless,” said Katayama, who has a doctorate in analytical chemistry from Hokkaido University.[…]”

Then when I walked by the seaweed, I HEARD the uptick in radiation.  Subtle from a distance, so I got closer.  Most seemed relatively okay, except one brand stood out for very obvious heightened radioactivity levels…

A whopping 0.832 µSv/hr through the packaging!

DSCN3364

The unsuspecting consumer may think to be buying healthy seaweed, but may actually be buying low-level nuclear waste.  Whether the Japanese or Fukushima Prefectural government needs to do a much better job protecting consumers will have to be settled by radioisotope-analysis of suspicious samples.
Photo in Iwaki, Japan – by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013 [edited: Caption nuanced January 8, 2014]

[!!!–> Important note, added 1/21/2014:  My assumption that the elevated radioactivity was from contamination was proven wrong.  See my lab data@ http://wp.me/puwO9-2rz  ]

Seaweed for sale in Iwaki: 0.832 µSv/hr through the packaging.  I’m pretty sure you may need a special permit to transport this… as low-level nuclear waste*.  Curious as to what the Cesium-137 levels in it would be… Any guesses? (feel free in comments.)

*Added Jan 8, 2014:  *This statement was based on the California Highway Patrol’s guideline that regards 3 times background as a potential hazardous materials (hazmat) incident. (See NRC Event # 47518, from Dec. 16, 2011.  For more, see upcoming January 2014 blogpost on Potassium-40)

DSCN3392

0.8 µSv/hr implies extremely high food radioactivity, which may be from nuclear contamination.   Jan. 8, 2014 nuance added:  The following caption was made with the assumption that such radioactivity is due to the Fukushima-Daiichi nuclear accident, which actually can not be known without sample analysis in a lab:   “Don’t mean to cut into this company’s profit margin here, but most rudimentary screening would have prevented this from hitting store shelves.   Chances are parents feed it to their children.  Clearly there are businesses operating with substandard ethics, and the government agencies supposed to guarantee food safety are clearly doing a dismal job.  A visit to ONE grocery store in Iwaki, Fukushima exposed that fact very clearly to me.” –> See added nuance statement, this may be a completely wrong interpretation.  Lab tests will shed light on this.  /  Photos all by © Michaël Van Broekhoven. Iwaki, Fukushima Prefecture, Japan November 13, 2013.

[!!!–> Important note, added 1/21/2014:  My assumption that the elevated radioactivity was from contamination was proven wrong.  See my lab data@ http://wp.me/puwO9-2rz  ]

Important addition: in the next blogpost, I share that the sale of radioactive seaweed is more widespread than I expected, and after that, a blogpost on  !!!–> why this is a bigger deal than the dose rate at that distance suggests [Jan 8, 2014 added nuance:]    … IF it were from dangerous manmade radioisotopes, and not from naturally occurring Potassium-40, which would pose no danger at levels that Cesium-137 and others would.  See: The Dose Deception – Why 0.20 µSv/hr (from fallout) can be far more dangerous than 2.00 µSv/hr (from cosmic rays). The inverse square law for ionizing radiation illustrated.  For more on K-40 levels, see upcoming blogpost.

And while I did a ceremony (which I won’t go into here) on the beach; and in the hotel I stayed at the preceding night; albeit shorter and simpler than intended, I did not go any closer to the reactors.  Overwhelmed by a relentless presence and intensity of an elusive energy, which I can only describe as “non-terrestrial, hostile to truth, and essentially anti-life”, I kept getting the feeling, “just get out of here“.  And so I did.  I left.  I left Fukushima.  I went all the way to Kyoto in the Kansai region, where I’ve been processing the oddly intenseness of that short visit.

Still, now five days later, it’s hard to put my finger on it.  [Added later:  It eventually resulted in going off-line for 3+ weeks, see Blog Currently “Radio Silent”.]   

While the measured dose rates in the air were not particularly alarming, there was something else entirely, something interdimensional and really ‘energetically off’, intensely ‘out of balance’…  that very profoundly disturbed me.  I can’t say that I understand it.   But I did get a ‘hit’ of the extreme seriousness of the situation.  It’s not just “Fukushima”, it is not even just “the nuclear industry”, it’s something alienated about modern industrial society…   of which fission technology may be its most extreme manifestation: utterly misguided.  It ought to be banned across the planet.   I’ll leave it that for now.

Given these circumstances, I must say that I am impressed with those working at the stricken plant.  They are working under unbelievably challenging conditions.  My heart goes out to them.

More Afterthoughts:  

  • NUANCE ADDED:  January 8, 2014 statement:  I’m finding more and more evidence that the radioactivity of this and other seaweeds may be due to their NATURAL incredibly high potassium content, which would NOT make these foods health-hazardoes whatsoever (to the contrary).   I sent this above-shown and other samples to a lab for precise radioisotope analysis to be sure. Results will appear on my blog when I have ‘m.  [!!!–> Important note, added 1/21/2014:  My assumption that the elevated radioactivity was from contamination was proven wrong.  See my lab data@ http://wp.me/puwO9-2rz  ]  I’m leaving the afterthoughts (albeit crossed-out what no longer feels right), as I wrote them in Japan in November 2013, and remind you of my DISCLAIMER, which includes that: ‘My views, understanding and opinions are subject to change without notice.’  (Which doesn’t mean that I wouldn’t tell you if something about my understanding as important as this one is changing, hence this statement).  As was:
  • I honestly don’t quite know what to think of what I witnessed.  I have never seen denial run as deep.  Most of the people I showed the seaweed just smiled, as if they did not know what to make of the measurement.   Two and a half years have gone by and all the government has done is pushing deceptive propaganda, instead of honest education so people can make sound decisions?   I’m appalled.  The facade the Japanese govenment is putting forward does not match reality.
  • It’s not acceptable to serve radioactive waste as food.  Food items need far more monitoring and violators must be shut down.  If food as radioactive as what I discovered on a visit of less than 24 hours hits the shelves in a safe-seeming beach town like Iwaki, there is little guarantee it is not being distributed outside of the prefecture.
  • If the Tokyo Olympics are to be a success, Japan has a lot of work ahead…  It’s not looking too good.

As I touched upon before (here, for instance), some people are working towards alternative solutions, thinking outside the box.  For alternative decontamination approaches to be tried out, it would be helpful if the challenges were earnestly being acknowledged.

Along this vein of seeking solutions, I quote from “Fukushima Solutions” (Nov 16, 2013 – BLOG Finca Sagrada: Practicing Biodynamic and Permaculture Homesteading while connecting to one’s inner journey, community and the sacredness of creation.):

“[…]  I have been experiencing the deepest  sadness over Fukushima and the killing of the Pacific Ocean.  It has been a real struggle for me to know what to do about it.  I do believe and ‘know’ that there are things people can do about it not only to protect ourselves but, more importantly, the Earth.

[…]  people realize that there are other laws that the universe follows than just the physical laws as described by modern science.  They are the spiritual “formative forces” of the universe and there are many names and descriptions for this. The name “Prana” or “life force” comes from the East, there are “etheric formative forces” as described by Rudolf Steiner and now even quantum physics is delving into this realm.

I see this manifesting practically in many realms. Energy healing, where energy practitioners can operate on a spiritual level and/or move energy around, is becoming wide-spread.   Reif machines and similar healing equipment can read the energy field of a person and heal the body through “vibrational healing.”

It is on this etheric level that we can heal the Earth and ourselves.  It is as if we are being forced to wake up to a whole new realm, to learn to raise our vibration level to that of nuclear energy.

Foremost for me, this means that I need to be in total appreciation of my life, and give thanks to the world that surrounds me…to every stone, flower and bird.  Nature needs this so much, not just because of Fukushima, but because this is healthy, wealthy and wise!

For my part, I use our Biodynamic farming practices, especially the barrel compost preparation.  Farms that used these preparations around Chernobyl were found to be free of radiation.   Further, on our Finca Sagrada, we have been using Agnihotra ceremonies  http://agnihotra.org  to help the land. These ceremonies come from Vedic times and have been found to purify both the soil and air and to mitigate radiation.

In addition, there are other important healing modalities. A good friend of ours, Cliff Sanderson, developed an etheric methodology called Deep Field Relaxation http://deepfieldrelaxation.com.   He worked in Chernobyl when the children were dying of radiation after the meltdown and he was able to heal them by taking them into this etheric field.   For this miraculous work, he received its highest medal from Russia’s Ministry of Health.

Now as I think about radiation, I feel that it is important for me to help spread the word about these solutions to the devastating radiation being emitted by Fukushima.  It is my dream that folks will practice Agnihotra, eat Biodynamic food, familiarize yourselves and then use vibrational healing such as deep field relaxation and, through ceremony and meditation, live a more healthy life.  Earth will love this, your thinking will improve, your emotional life will be more stable and you will find that you can accomplish much much more. I do believe that we should take constructive steps when faced with challenges like Fukushima, not freeze in fear.

Especially folks on the West Coast and in Hawaii should be aware of these alternatives. […] See full post and continue Reading.

Don’t forget: Fukushima is part of EARTH: Beautiful, powerful, and deserving to be loved and respected.

May the radioactively contaminated region heal much faster than expected, and solutions be implemented so the health crisis that is already sweeping Eastern Japan be halted.

A creek rock, from just above Willow Meadows, at around 10,000 feet altitude in the Sangre de Cristo mountains near spiritually-charged Crestone, Colorado, is now part of the Fukushima Beach, Japan. May the forces of deception be defeated. Photos by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013.

A creek rock, from just above Willow Meadows, at around 10,000 feet altitude in the Sangre de Cristo mountains near spiritually-charged Crestone, Colorado, is now part of the Fukushima Beach, Japan.
May the forces of deception be defeated.
Photos by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2013.

BAN ALL NUCLEAR FISSION TECHNOLOGY NOW.  

[Last Updated:  January 8, 2014: nuances added  + couple tiny edits in March 2014]

[!!!–> Important note, added 1/21/2014:  My assumption that the elevated radioactivity in food items was from industrial contamination was proven wrong.  See my lab data@ http://wp.me/puwO9-2rz  ]

(Added: A painting I did, related to this visit, see this March 14, 2014 ‘New Painting: ‘Prayers for Fukushima’}

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Visit to Fukushima, Cut Short. With PHOTOS and Reflections.

  1. Pingback: The Spectrum of Nuclear News – PART 1: “Yummy Radioisotopes” | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  2. Pingback: Medcom Geiger Counter Measurements in Southern Colorado – Dec. 2014 Notes. | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  3. Pingback: Der Spiegel on US Navy Sailers Suffering in the Aftermath of Exposure to Fukushima Fallout, and their lawsuit against TEPCO. (Feb. 2015) | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  4. Pingback: The Tibetan Buddhist “Stupa of Miracles” in Huy, Belgium | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  5. Pingback: Wow, That is some Damn Radioactive Rain… (A Geiger Counter Measurement from Southern Colorado, May 3, 2015) | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  6. Pingback: Sometimes All Seems Normal… (Today’s 1.5 µSv/hr rain event seems “within normal variability range”: No EPA data gaps) + some links (Nuclear Cultists, Sr-90 at new record high, etc.) | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  7. Pingback: Hiroshima & Nagasaki Remembered – A Visit to the Atomic Bomb & Peace Memorial Sites | Not All Alleged Is Apparent…

  8. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  9. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  10. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  11. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  12. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  13. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  14. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  15. Pingback: A – WOWZA MIX: Why does Cesium-137 increase in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer, CONFIRMED / Some Finnish DATA / & !!!-> Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly Apparent Blo

  16. Pingback: A Mix: Music Videos, Radiation Data, Ponderings: Cs-137 increases in Winter? / Cobalt-60 as a Fukushima Tracer: CONFIRMED , Some Finnish DATA / + (!!!) Complete Cs137/Cs134/I131/Co60/K40/Be7 Record for Radiation Monitor @ CERN, Switzerland | Allegedly App

  17. Pingback: Blah Blah Blah (a mix) | Allegedly Apparent Blog

  18. Pingback: ‘Kyosei’ (Coexistence), audiovisual art reflection on Fukushima, by Lea Nagano | Allegedly Apparent Blog

  19. Pingback: Major Seafood Industry Insider: Pacific Seafood “Undesirable for Human Consumption” | Allegedly Apparent Blog

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

