Radiation Monitoring – Overview of Data Sources in the US.

Northern California – November 2, 2012 – This blogpost’s info is from my page US Radiation Monitorsa sub-tab of the (top-bar) ‘Radioactivity’ tab.  For radiation monitors in other countries, see Radiation Monitors Worldwide.  Please contact me if you know good sources.  Thank you.

You may also be interested in these:

So what’s going on?

I’m still so busy working, so many issues that beg for answers have to wait.  This blogpost is just a ‘sharing as I go’.  I want to do some research on what the radioactive fallout situation is at the moment where I live in Northern California.  I’ll begin here by testing if the list I compiled last year still works.

The ongoing “INES-8″ multiple reactor meltdowns disaster at the Japanese Fukushima-Daiichi must have deposited some Cesium-137 (and other radioisotopes) in Humboldt County (where I currently roam).   What would a fallout deposition map of this region look like?  How bad are the regional hotspots?  How much of the radiation in the ocean makes it into the rain this rainy season?  Are there still traces of fallout in the air?  I aim to find answers to these questions as soon as I get to it.  

With radiation continuing to ooze out of Japan, and the US government failing to adequately respondprivate grassroots monitoring (also of public monitors) might be the only way to know what’s actually going on.  Until the fallout deposition across the entire continent is measured and made public, children may be playing in hotspots (locally elevated contamination, like these in Tokyo, Japan), or food grown in such contaminated areas may continue to end up in the food supply (like these 10 Bq/kg nuts from California).

The very real danger of the Fukushima-Daiichi NPP disaster spinning further out of control in the next few years (see here), makes it even more mind-boggling that so little has been done to improve North America’s still unbelievably pathetic public monitoring of radioactivity in the soil, air, water and food.  The data sources are limited, but I’ll see what can be found out next.

To get started I cleaned up my US Radiation Monitors page, and can summerize that page with this easy list:

My (Nov 2, 2012) US Radiation Data Sources:

(If I improve this list, the edits will be made on the US Radiation Monitors page, not in this blogpost)

Please read my DISCLAIMER before commenting or jumping to conclusions.  Comparing ‘dose rates’ is not necessarily a dependable way to gauge the full health dangers of fallout.  For some perspectives, check my ‘Radiation Exposure Effects‘ page.    For help with radiation units, conversions and abbreviations, see ‘Radiation Units‘.

For nuclear-related news, I recommend checking these three:

or see my Nuclear News links page (which needs updating… I’ll get to that…).

I hope organizing and sharing this information is somehow is helpful.

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

