Mojave, Red Rocks, Zion, Bryce Canyon, Capitol Reef,… (Photos on a healing route)

Long Photo Blog Post to catch up a little…

I started out in Humboldt County, California, known for its vast redwood forests, Lost Coast, holistic & environmental consciousness, horticulture, music and art scene.   This is a 180 degree panoramic shot – people on path on the right give an idea of the trees’ size.   Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Sunday July 29, 2012 – NorthWestern-ish Utah, USA

I decided to rent another car and DRIVE to participate in a healing weekend intensive in North Las Vegas last weekend, and a related workshop west of Salt Lake City this weekend.  (Cheaper to have to return it to the same place, luckily.)

Last week, an extremely long day, with 12 hours of driving (breaks not included).   The last stretch was many miles of stop-go-stop-go Friday evening traffic jam through the Mojave Desert with SoCal masses pouring into Las Vegas.  Slow, tiring, but pretty nonetheless.  Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Vegas is so much more than its (in)famous strip, including much amazing natural beauty in all directions.   Before I drove to Zion National Park, a friend and I visited nearby Red Rocks.

Red Rocks, on the western edge of Las Vegas, Nevada. (180 degree panoramic)

It remains rather mind-bogling to realize (over and over) that there’s more trauma to be worked through, more layers to unwind, more blockages to release, and much suppressed emotions to come unglued…

sidewalk flower, Las Vegas, Nevada.

Healing ‘Post Traumatic Stress Syndrome/Disorder’ (PTSS / PTSD) is one hell of a challenging and self-confrontational journey.  At times I’ve thought I was done, “through with it”, but I was merely getting good at coping, not necessarily healing at all.  It seems that in the past several years I’m finally making some strides towards (some day, I hope) truly being through with thát.  It seems to progress and stall in waves, kinda like traffic in a traffic jam…  Healing is a journey.

So, on the non-geographic end of my journey, I’m very happy and optimistic that (some 12 years after extreme police brutality and hospital maltreatment in its grueling aftermath),

North Las Vegas sky…

I am getting “the time bomb of suppressed emotions” defused.  Step by step.  With patience, some courage, and very skillful shamanic energy healers to help me with the process.  That journey continues.  I won’t go into it any further now.

I have some photos to share…

.

I passed through the gorgeous Mojave Desert, which includes Red Rocks outside LV:

Most of the Mojave Desert is mostly in California, but extends into Nevada, Utah and Arizona as well, including some gorgeous patches, such as this one in Southern Nevada.  Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

It’s incredibly gorgeous all over the regions I passed through this past week.  From Las Vegas to Salt Lake City (w/ 4 nights):

I didn’t know: Joshua Trees also grow in some spots outside Las vegas!
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

On my way and into Zion National Park:

Pretty scenery all over.  Don’t be fooled into the arrogance the sign proposes, though. Land can never be bought or sold. Only its ‘title’ can. All the rest is legalese hokus spokus, and psychological make-believe,… backed up by whatever armed forces are aligned with the legalese structures…
Would still be nice to own a land title to some sweet piece somewhere though…
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Zion:

‘Court of the Patriarchs’ in Zion National Park, Utah, one of many easily accessible places in this incredible national park.
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

At my campsite, I saw a tarantula in the evening, and a very pretty buck chewing so close to me it woke me up:

Scared Tarantula playing “you can’t see me if I make myself look smaller”.

Good Morning !

On my way out.  This (I think pretty cool, or at least fun to drive) road runs through Zion.
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Zion’s unlit ‘dark tunnel’ (constructed 1927-1930) zig-zags up, with only a couple light/air holes, for over one mile (1711 meter).
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Amazing on the other side, but my camera batteries were dead until I had a bite and recharged ‘m in Mt Carmel Junction.

Bryce Canyon National Park, where I hiked the Peekaboo Trail and the rim (2 nights):

Incredible place. Hard to pick a photo, as every turn showed different views…  Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Hoodoos, the trippy geological oddity Bryce is famous for.  Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Scenic Byway 12 through southern Utah, from Bryce Canyon NP to Capitol Reef NP…. is over-the-top scenic…  To pick just a couple sights:

180 degree panoramic on Scenic Byway 12, Southern Utah. Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

A zoom in:

Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Upped the exposure, temperature and contrast a bit to show even more how awesome the red land reflects off the bottom of the clouds. (Southern Utah, Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument general area, along the 12)
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Capitol Reef National Park:

Entering Capitol Reef National Park, one of the lesser known gems of Utah.
Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Rock art figures created by ancient Native Americans can be seen in several places in Capitol Reef National Park. Most are attributed to the Fremont Culture, which is believed to have existed in these areas of what is now Utah from approximately  600 – 1300 CE. The Fremont people were contemporaries of the Ancestral Puebloans (Anasazi) of the Four Corners area.
The above shown petroglyph figures can be seen along a sheer cliff that parallels Hwy 24 just east of the Visitor Center in Capitol Reef. Pretty much right next to the road. Photo © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2012

Where I slept under the incredible Milky Way starry night, near Torrey, UT.

And then, same trippy day: cruising through Salt Lake City on my way back west.  I’ll be in the land of the majestic giant Coastal Redwoods …within days…

Cheers!

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

