New Painting: Shamanic Journey (with swastika pattern)

End of August 2011.  I told myself I would finish it ‘this month’.  Well, practically so.  Started in Park City, Utah; some progress was made on Antelope Island in the Great Salt Lake, and a lot of work lead it to be finished in Grand Teton National Park, in Wyoming last week.  So here it is: my newest painting:

‘Shamanic Journey’ – Acrylic on canvas – 30″ x 40″ – by © Michaël Van Broekhoven, 2011. All Right Reserved.

When the pattern was laid out on the canvass, here I show how 4 counterclockwise turning swastikas are balanced by the (about 4 times larger) clockwise turning swastika in the negative space:

It’s like “yin-yang” in swastika-language. :-)

The spiral is based on the Fibonacci numbers:

This painting humbled me in its ever-shifting direction, and its insistence to only be worked on when I was in a serene creative flow.  I feel like the beginning of a new approach to painting for me…

More of my paintings, see the tab PAINTINGS.  

This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Painting: Shamanic Journey (with swastika pattern)

  1. Pingback: New Painting: ‘The Call To End The Nuclear Era’ | Allegedly Apparent Blog

Thank you for commenting. Your comment won't show until approved. Sometimes that can take awhile. - mvb

